A Cute little skirt

Hey there everyone 

Well this is the first of my many projects that I am going to blog about, let me tell you it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be.

Firstly let me tell you about this amazing blog I have found.  Its called Sewing in No Mans Land.  Kelly who writes this blog not only have the most adorable children (next to my own that is) but she is a fantastic photographer and amazing at sewing.  She has so many projects available for you to try it really is a struggle to decide which one to do first so I went with something simple, a skirt.  This is the link to her blog and the pattern/instructions http://www.sewinginnomansland.com/2012/02/25/tiny-curtsey-skirt/, even if you don’t do any of the projects on here it still is a great blog to read and as I said the photography is amazing!

Image

Isn’t this fabric adorable, I got it at http://www.myfabrichouse.co.uk

Well I honestly found kelly’s instructions straight forward, they were easy to follow and although it took me longer than 10 minutes to create the skirt I did it all the same.  Being a real beginner it took me about 20-25 minutes to complete this project.  I did change something though, rather than sew the fabric to the elastic I made a band and threaded the elastic through (I have yet to try sewing directly on to elastic and just want a few practice goes before I complete an item of clothing).  As you can see from the picture (I tried to post more as I took loads of the creating process but it wouldn’t let me upload them) I have posted it was all very simple and straight forward as Kelly says!!!!!  This is fantastic for those of you who have little girls and are looking for something to do with any fat quarters you may have, it could also work I suppose with other pieces of fabric too although to fit I wouldn’t go smaller than a fat quarter to be honest (although you could make dolls skirts with off cuts and scrap). 

I really would recommend this project to any beginner and in completing it (and without hiccups) has really given me a confidence boost and I am raring to go on another project (I am currently in the middle of making my son a cushion for his room and a spider net curtain as he is mad on spider man will blog about these soon).

So why not have a go at this and let me know how you all get on.

Emma x

One thought on “A Cute little skirt

Leave a Reply

